Home Indiana Agriculture News 73 Indiana Farm Families Presented With Hoosier Homestead Award

73 Indiana Farm Families Presented With Hoosier Homestead Award


Hoosier Homestead Awards were presented to 73 family farms during this year’s state fair by Lt. Gov. Suzanne Crouch and Indiana State Department of Agriculture Director Bruce Kettler. Farms across Indiana proudly display their signs showing that they’ve been in the same family for more than 100 years.

Jean Kingseed Gesse received the Centennial Award and Sesquicentennial Award for her farm in Howard County that has been in the family over 150 years.

“Going back to my great-great-grandfather, which I cannot remember obviously, but I do remember my great-grandfather and just seeing them work on the farm, all the transitions farming has made over the years. I actually married a farmer and we still farm. So, it’s just really interesting and neat to have it in the family.”

Gesse describes some of her favorite memories of the farm.

“We used to raise Hereford cattle when I was growing up and I just always liked Hereford cattle. We did a little pigs along that way as well. At one time, I think my grandfather milked but I don’t remember that real well. But just a transition of farming techniques from then to now and how things have changed like the size of equipment.”

As Gesse mentioned, she married a farmer and they farm now in Porter County. Kevin Brush, also a family member, farms the land in Howard County.

Gesse says the plan is for the land to stay in the family for many years to come.

“The plan is to pass it down to my son and then it will go to his two sons, but probably not be farming, Kevin’s family probably will be farming it in the future. That’s the plan right now, anyway, but do plan to keep it in the family definitely.”

The following list includes the August 2021 Hoosier Homestead Award recipients.

County Name Homestead Date Award
Adams Kiefer 1882 Centennial
Allen Scherrer 1900 Centennial
Bartholomew Anthers 1871 Sesquicentennial
Bartholomew O’Neal — Dickey 1919 Centennial
Benton English 1871 Centennial and Sesquicentennial
Benton Hasser 1916 Centennial
Brown Parsley 1920 Centennial
Carroll Been 1910 Centennial
Carroll Duff 1921 Centennial
Carroll Penn 1867 Centennial and Sesquicentennial
Clark Johnson 1921 Centennial
Clay Edward & Anna Spaeth 1921 Centennial
Clay Harvey Fell 1918 Centennial
Daviess Bean 1907 Centennial
Decatur Carroll 1871 Sesquicentennial
DeKalb George E. Baker 1918 Centennial
DeKalb Rosenbury 1906 Centennial
DeKalb Tustison/Hook 1845 Sesquicentennial
Dubois Hoppenjans 1921 Centennial
Dubois Lawrence Gutgsell 1910 Centennial
Fayette Winfield Schockey/David Dean 1921 Centennial
Franklin Brier 1906 Centennial
Franklin Knecht 1846 Centennial and Sesquicentennial
Franklin McNally 1918 Centennial
Franklin Schuck/Knecht 1879 Centennial
Franklin Schuck/Knecht 1902 Centennial
Gibson Hardiman/Lyles/Nolcox/Solomon 1915 Centennial
Hamilton Ringer 1894 Centennial
Harrison Leffler 1874 Centennial
Harrison Reinhardt 1871 Sesquicentennial
Hendricks Dillon 1917 Centennial
Howard Jean Gesse — Kingseed Farm 1848 Centennial and Sesquicentennial
Howard Davis 1920 Centennial
Howard Breisch 1848 Centennial and Sesquicentennial
Howard Kingseed 1903 Centennial
Howard Kingseed 1919 Centennial
Huntington Brubaker 1899 Centennial
Jackson Anthony – Browning – Robbins 1919 Centennial
Jackson Garriott – Robbins 1914 Centennial
Jackson George Parke Vehslage 1862 Centennial and Sesquicentennial
Jackson Pfaffenberger 1853 Centennial and Sesquicentennial
Jasper Smith 1871 Sesquicentennial
Jay Bell 1885 Centennial
Jennings Anthers/Blair 1821 Bicentennial
Jennings Biehle 1906 Centennial
Jennings Biehle 1906 Centennial
LaPorte Shebel 1920 Centennial
LaPorte Steve and Joann Jensen 1871 Sesquicentennial
Lawrence Fountain 1920 Centennial
Martin Sherfick 1920 Centennial
Miami Clendenning/Fouts/See 1841 Sesquicentennial
Miami Crockett 1865 Centennial and Sesquicentennial
Morgan Charles J. Kirk 1906 Centennial
Morgan Oliver, August, & Alice Dilley 1902 Centennial
Morgan Rawlins 1917 Centennial
Noble Raymond & Karen Parker 1917 Centennial
Parke Lennie C. Pyle 1920 Centennial
Pulaski Theodore & Lowell Podell 1900 Centennial
Pulaski William Meyer 1899 Centennial
Putnam Jeffries 1885 Centennial
Randolph Fogle 1919 Centennial
Randolph Harry & Florence Smith 1920 Centennial
Shelby Clark – Rehme 1866 Sesquicentennial
Shelby Harrod 1899 Centennial
St. Joseph Beehler 1860 Sesquicentennial
Union Brattain 1871 Sesquicentennial
Vanderburgh Henry Schlensker 1870 Sesquicentennial
Vanderburgh Niederhaus/Karch 1839 Sesquicentennial
Vigo Tryon 1844 Centennial and Sesquicentennial
Wabash Chamberlain 1920 Centennial
Wells Steiner 1863 Centennial and Sesquicentennial
White Johnson – Barnhart 1916 Centennial
White Milton & Emma Marshall 1917 Centennial