Home Indiana Agriculture News Lugar Joins Push for Senate Action on Farm Bill

Lugar Joins Push for Senate Action on Farm Bill


A group of 44 U.S. Senators have signed a letter sent to Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid and Republican Leader Mitch McConnell calling for a timely and open debate on the Senate farm bill, the ‘Agriculture Reform, Food and Jobs Act of 2012’. According to the Senators, the bill takes steps to reduce the deficit and decrease government spending by 23-billion dollars. The letter continues, – the bill, earlier passed the Senate Ag Committee, sets an example of how Senators can come together in a bipartisan way to craft meaningful, yet fiscally responsible, policy.

The bill streamlines conservation programs and helps prevent fraud and abuse in nutrition programs. Also, the risk management, conservation, research, trade promotion and nutrition programs in the legislation impacts nearly every American. Many of these programs will expire at the end of the year if no action is taken to reauthorize the farm bill.

Those Senators signing the letter are: John Barrasso, Max Baucus, Michael Bennet, Richard Blumenthal, Roy Blunt, Scott Brown, Sherrod Brown, Maria Cantwell, Bob Casey, Dan Coats, Kent Conrad, Chris Coons, Mike Crapo, Mike Enzi, Al Franken, Kristen Gillibrand, Chuck Grassley, Kay Hagan, Tom Harkin, John Hoeven, Kay Bailey Hutchison, Daniel Inouye, Mike Johanns, Tim Johnson, John Kerry, Mark Kirk, Amy Klobuchar, Herb Kohl, Pat Leahy, Dick Lugar, Claire McCaskill, Jeff Merkley, Jerry Moran, Ben Nelson, Bill Nelson, Jim Risch, Bernie Sanders, Jeanne Shaheen, Olympia Snowe, Jon Tester, John Thune, Mark Udall, Tom Udall, and Ron Wyden.


Source: NAFB News Service

Previous article
Next articleUSDA Celebrates 150 years