Home Indiana Agriculture News AFBF Has New Public Policy Leadership

AFBF Has New Public Policy Leadership


Dale Moore will replace the retiring Mark Maslyn as American Farm Bureau Federation Executive Director of Public Policy. After 32 years of distinguished service – Maslyn will leave Farm Bureau on February 1st. Chief Economist Dr. Bob Young will take the position formerly held by Moore – serving as Deputy Executive Director of Public Policy for the organization. According to Farm Bureau Executive Vice President and Treasurer Julie Anna Potts – Moore brings more than 30 years of deep public policy and Capitol Hill experience to the position. She says Farm Bureau will greatly benefit from Moore’s experience and insights gained from working with members of Congress and the administration on agricultural policy issues.

Moore was appointed by President George W. Bush as USDA’s Chief of Staff in 2001. He served Ag Secretaries Ann Veneman, Mike Johanns and Ed Schafer – as well as Acting Secretary Chuck Conner. He also worked in various positions during more than a dozen years on Capitol Hill. Before Young was named Farm Bureau Chief Economist in 2003 – he was a co-director of the Food and Agricultural Policy Research Institute. Before that – Young was the Chief Economist of the Senate Ag Committee.


Source: NAFB News Service