Home Indiana Agriculture News AgriNovus Organization Expanding

AgriNovus Organization Expanding


AgriNovus Indiana, a Central Indiana Corporate Partnership (CICP) sector initiative for the agbiosciences sector, has expanded its Executive Steering Committee to 20 members. AgriNovus Indiana is committed to strengthening the state’s agricultural and food industries through sector advancement, collaboration and entrepreneurial support. At its formation in late 2014, AgriNovus Indiana organized a 15-member Executive Steering Committee comprised of senior leaders representing corporate, government, industry association and university stakeholders. The committee has been instrumental in the development of the organization, establishing priorities and providing strategic direction.

As the organization launches into its second full year of operations, AgriNovus has attracted five new stakeholders who are investing in the organization and have appointed senior leaders to serve on the committee:
• Steven Braun, Senior Vice President, Global Quality and Global Research & Development Operations, Mead Johnson
• Sherilyn R. Emberton, President, Huntington University
• William L. (Bill) Johnson, President and Chief Executive Officer, Farm Credit Mid-America
• Randy Reichmann, President & CEO, Indianapolis Region, Old National Bancorp
• Jonathan Weinzapfel, Chancellor, Ivy Tech Community College Southwest and Wabash Valley Region
“Seeing a continued level of interest and commitment from our original stakeholder group while also appealing to a new group of supporting organizations is proof positive that AgriNovus is bringing value and gaining momentum in the sector,” said Beth Bechdol., President and CEO of AgriNovus Indiana. This year, the now 20-member committee will transition into the AgriNovus Indiana Board of Directors, the governing body providing guidance to the organization.
In addition to securing the additional committee members, AgriNovus has also developed an Innovation Council for each of the strategic areas including Plant Sciences and Crop Protection, Animal Health and Nutrition, Human Food and Nutrition, and high-tech Agriculture. New members include:
• Bryan Brackemyre, Director of Marketing and Economic Development, Indiana Municipal Power Agency
• Gil Farley, President, Biodyne-Midwest LLC
• Josh Trenary, Executive Director, Indiana Pork
The Innovation Council will provide AgriNovus with strategic direction on engagement such as ways to network professionals in the sector, connect students to agbiosciences careers and determine talent and workforce initiatives needed to advance Indiana.
For more information about AgriNovus Indiana visit AgriNovusIndiana.com.