Home Indiana Agriculture News Beard Elected as New Corn Grower Leader

Beard Elected as New Corn Grower Leader


The Indiana Corn Marketing Council board welcomed four new voting directors and elected a new officer team at its December meeting in Indianapolis. Mike Beard of Frankfort, Ind. was elected as president of the checkoff organization. “As the ICMC farmer-directors look to 2018, we want to take steps to facilitate the success of Indiana corn in our local communities, our state, our nation and our world,” said Beard. “Through strategic management of the checkoff budget and the development of innovative marketing and research initiatives, the Indiana corn checkoff board will ensure Indiana remains a leader in the corn industry.”

In addition to Beard, other members elected to the executive committee include: Josh Miller of Anderson, Ind. as vice president; Sarah Delbecq of Auburn, Ind. as secretary; Paul Hodgen of Roachdale, Ind. as treasurer; Jacob Walker of Waterloo, Ind. as demand committee chairman; and Kelly Whiteman Snipes of Rochester, Ind. as supply committee chairwoman.

ICMC oversees the investment of state corn checkoff funds in programs to strengthen domestic and international demand for corn and corn products. ICMC is led by 17 farmer-directors who are elected by Indiana corn farmers.

In 2017, the following board members were selected to serve a 3-year term.

• Jacob Walker from Wabash, Ind. was re-elected to represent District 3, which includes LaGrange, Steuben, Noble, DeKalb, Whitley, Allen, Huntington, Wells and Adams counties.
• Adam Howell from Middletown, Ind. was appointed by the board to represent District 6, which includes Blackford, Jay, Delaware, Henry, Randolph, Wayne, Fayette and Union counties.
• John Adam Jr. from Sellersburg, Ind. was appointed by the board to represent District 9, which includes Franklin, Jennings, Jefferson, Ripley, Dearborn, Ohio, Clark, Switzerland and Scott counties.
• Tim Gauck from Greensburg, Ind. was elected to serve as an at-large director representing the entire state of Indiana.
• Denny Maple from Greentown, Ind. was re-elected to serve as an at-large director representing the entire state of Indiana.
• Matt Brandyberry of West Lafayette, Ind. was appointed by Purdue University’s Interim Dean of Agriculture Karen Plaut to represent the second largest farm organization, Farmers Union.

In addition to these new directors, three ex-officio directors were appointed to the ICMC board. Tim Baumgart, Ohio Valley Region Commercial Manager for Consolidated Grain and Barge, will begin his first term as first purchaser ex-officio. Sen. Mark Stoops and Rep. Joe Taylor III join the ICMC board to represent the Indiana General Assembly.

Sen. Mark Stoops of Monroe County represents Indiana senate district 40. Rep. Joe Taylor of St. Joseph County represents Indiana house district 7 and is a ranking minority member of the House Agriculture and Rural Development Committee.

Source: ICMC