Home Indiana Agriculture News College Students Receive 2013 Pork Industry Scholarships

College Students Receive 2013 Pork Industry Scholarships


The Pork Checkoff is dedicated to helping develop the next generation of pork professionals – according to National Pork Board President Conley Nelson. He says the checkoff’s ongoing service and obligation to producers includes ensuring there’s a sustainable source of young people ready to take on the industry’s commitment to continuous improvement in all aspects of pork production. That’s why the checkoff has awarded 22 college students from across the U.S. scholarships based on scholastic merit, leadership, pork industry involvement and future pork production career plans. Nelson says a skilled workforce is essential for the competitiveness of the pork industry – and this is a chance for the industry to encourage these young people to join a workforce offering many diverse opportunities.

One scholarship recipient – Corey Carpenter of California – will receive five-thousand dollars. The runner-up – Austin Putz of Iowa – will receive 35-hundred dollars. The 20 other scholarship recipients will each get two-thousand dollars. They are: Courtney Adams of Florida, David Ammann of Illinois, Denise Beam of Pennsylvania, Vance Brown of Pennsylvania, Bailey Farrer of Indiana, Cassandra Ferring of North Carolina, Erin Geary of Missouri, Corrine Harris of Washington, Tori Harris of Oklahoma, Cassie Holloway of Maryland, Andrew Langel of Iowa, Emily Limes of Ohio, Amanda Outhouse of Iowa, Rachel Palinski of Georgia, Matt Patterson of Missouri, Taylor Petersen of Iowa, Brent Saxton of Iowa, Sterling Schnepf of Iowa, Katie Stueck of Iowa and Alyssa Thomas of Missouri.

Source: NAFB News Service