Home Indiana Agriculture News House Moves to Send Farm Bill to Conference Committee, Appoints Conferees

House Moves to Send Farm Bill to Conference Committee, Appoints Conferees


Yesterday, the House of Representatives moved to send the 2018 Farm Bill to conference committee. Following the vote, Speaker Paul Ryan (WI-01) named the House conferees or members who will seek to resolve the differences between the two chambers’ bills. House Agriculture Committee Chairman, K. Michael Conaway (TX-11), issued the following statement on the House’s action:

“Today, we move one step closer to delivering a strong, new farm bill to the president’s desk on time as he has called on Congress to do. America’s farmers and ranchers and rural America are struggling right now and they deserve the certainty of a strong farm bill to see them through to better times. The House has pulled together a solid team of conferees from across the country who are committed to working with our Senate colleagues to reach a final product that helps millions of low-income Americans climb the economic ladder while standing by the hard-working farm and ranch families who put food on our tables and clothes on our backs.”


House Agriculture Committee Conferees:

  1. Chairman Mike Conaway (R-TX-11)
  2. Glenn ‘GT’ Thompson (R-PA-05)
  3. Bob Goodlatte (R-VA-06)
  4. Frank Lucas (R-OK-03)
  5. Mike Rogers (R-AL-03)
  6. Austin Scott (R-GA-08)
  7. Rick Crawford (R-AR-01)
  8. Vicky Hartzler (R-MO-04)
  9. Rodney Davis (R-IL-13)
  10. Ted Yoho (R-FL-03)
  11. David Rouzer (R-NC-07)
  12. Roger Marshall (R-KS-01)
  13. Jodey Arrington (R-TX-19)
  14. Collin Peterson (D-MN)
  15. David Scott (D-GA)
  16. Jim Costa (D-CA)
  17. Tim Walz (D-MN)
  18. Marcia Fudge (D-OH)
  19. Jim McGovern (D-MA)
  20. Filemon Vela (D-TX)
  21. Michelle Lujan Grisham (D-NM)
  22. Ann Kuster (D-NH)
  23. Tom O’Halleran (D-AZ)

House Education and the Workforce Committee Conferees:

  1. Chairwoman Virginia Foxx (R-NC)
  2. Rick Allen (R-GA-12)
  3. Alma Adams (D-NC)

House Energy and Commerce Committee Conferees:

  1. John Shimkus (R-IL-15)
  2. Kevin Cramer (R-ND-AL)
  3. Paul Tonko (D-NY)

House Financial Services Committee Conferees:

  1. Chairman Jeb Hensarling (R-TX-05)
  2. Sean Duffy (R-WI-07)
  3. Maxine Waters (D-CA)

House Foreign Affairs Committee Conferees:

  1. Chairman Ed Royce (R-CA-39)
  2. Steve Chabot (R-OH-01)
  3. Eliot Engel (D-NY)

House Oversight and Government Reform Committee Conferees:

  1. Mark Walker (R-NC-06)
  2. James Comer (R-KY-01)
  3. Stacey Plaskett (D-V.I.)

House Natural Resources Committee Conferees:

  1. Chairman Rob Bishop (R-UT-01)
  2. Bruce Westerman (R-AR-04)
  3. Raul Grijalva (D-AZ)

House Science, Space, and Technology Committee Conferees:

  1. Ralph Abraham (R-LA-05)
  2. Neal Dunn (R-FL-02)
  3. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX)

House Transportation and Infrastructure Conferees:

  1. Jeff Denham (R-CA-10)
  2. Bob Gibbs (R-OH-07)
  3. Cheri Bustos (D-IL)

Although the House has progressed and selected their conferees, the Senate still must take the same action. The current farm bill expires on September 30th.