Home Indiana Agriculture News Hoosier Elected as 2017 Pork Act Delegate

Hoosier Elected as 2017 Pork Act Delegate


The U.S. pork industry held its annual business meeting, the National Pork Industry Forum, March 1-3 in Atlanta. At the meeting, Pork Act Delegates ranked eight candidates for the National Pork Board and submitted the list to the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture. The candidates, ranked in order by delegate voting results, are:

• Brett Kaysen, Colorado (second-term incumbent)
• Steve Rommereim, South Dakota (second-term incumbent)
• Scott Phillips, Missouri
• Heather Hill, Indiana
• Deborah Ballance, North Carolina
• Todd Erickson, North Dakota
• Kristine Scheller-Stewart, North Carolina (second-term incumbent)
• Charles Wildman, Ohio

The U.S. Secretary of Agriculture will select five members from the slate elected by the delegates to fill the roles of outgoing board members effective July 2017. The five nominees will each serve a three-year term. Fifteen pork producers serve on the National Pork Board, each limited to serving no more than two concurrent terms.

Delegates also elected Bryn Jensson, Iowa, and William Knapke, Ohio, to fill the two open positions on the Nominating Committee. The committee recruits and screens candidates for the National Pork Board and does not require approval by the Secretary. In other business, delegates approved two non-binding directives for the National Pork Boar