Home Indiana Agriculture News Hoosiers Honored for Going Beyond the Fence for Indiana Farmers

Hoosiers Honored for Going Beyond the Fence for Indiana Farmers


Indiana corn and soybean farmers honored a group of deserving Hoosiers Monday for their outstanding support and promotion of Indiana agriculture with Beck’s Hybrids Beyond the Fence awards.

“We couldn’t be more thrilled to honor four deserving individuals who have made a significant impact on Indiana agriculture,” said Scott Beck, vice president of Beck’s Hybrids. “Whether they are preparing students for the future, advocating at the Indiana Statehouse, telling the story of agriculture through words, or contributing to the community, their passion toward Indiana agriculture is unparalleled.”

The awards, which are sponsored by Beck’s Hybrids of Atlanta, Ind., in conjunction with the Indiana Soybean Alliance (ISA) and the Indiana Corn Growers Association (ICGA), were presented at the Indiana Livestock, Forage and Grain Forum on February 11 in Indianapolis.

“Like our Hoosier corn and soybean farmers, Beck’s Hybrids understands the importance of sharing the story of how we farm today and recognizing those individuals who go above and beyond in that effort,” said Joe Steinkamp, chair of ISA’s membership and policy committee and a farmer from Evansville, Ind.  “We appreciate Beck’s partnership that allows us to honor some great folks each year with these awards.

The four award recipients honored for their outstanding contributions to Indiana agriculture are:

  • John G. Baugh of West Lafayette, Ind. received the Friend of Indiana Agriculture award for outstanding contributions to agriculture by a non-farmer. Baugh is director of agricultural services and regulation for Purdue University’s College of Agriculture.
  • Tom Bechman of Franklin, Ind. received the Ag Media award for excellence in reporting about Indiana agriculture. Bechman is the editor of The Indiana Prairie Farmer and has been with the company since 1981.
  • Robert W. Bishop of Leesburg, Ind. received the Community Betterment award, which recognizes a farmer for outstanding contributions to the community through philanthropic, service, volunteerism, donations and/or leadership projects. He is a farmer in Kosciusko County.
  • Randy Warren of North Webster, Ind. received the Ag Education Outreach award for his outstanding contribution to Indiana agricultural education. Warren recently retired from Wawasee High School after teaching agricultural education for nearly 40 years.

“These four individuals are using their time and talents to help our industry grow, as well as make a difference in their communities,” said Herb Ringel, ICGA president and farmer from Wabash, Ind. “Indiana agriculture is blessed to have great people like this year’s Beyond the Fence award winners out there representing us.”

(pictured from left to right, Ashley Woodward-Fischer, Beck’s Hybrids; Kevin Wilson, president of Indiana Soybean Alliance; Tom Bechman, Ag Media award winner; Randy Warren, Ag Education Outreach award winner; John Baugh, Friend of Indiana Agriculture award winner; Robert Bishop, Community Betterment award winner; and Bruce Kettler, Beck’s Hybrids.)