Home Indiana Agriculture News Indiana Corn Farmers Encouraged to Vote in Checkoff Election

Indiana Corn Farmers Encouraged to Vote in Checkoff Election


icmclogoFive Indiana corn farmers are running for two At-Large seats on the Indiana Corn Marketing Council board of directors. Absentee voting is open through August 12. The election takes place August 17-21 at county Purdue Cooperative Extension Service offices across the state.

The ICMC board manages state corn checkoff investments and determines promotional, educational and research activities that can strengthen Indiana’s corn industry.

According to the Indiana Corn Market Development Law, those who vote in the election of directors to the ICMC Board must be an Indiana producer, which is defined as: Any person engaged in the business of producing and marketing corn in Indiana under the producer’s own name or the name of an entity in which the producer has ownership.

Absentee ballots can be downloaded from ICMC website and must be returned by August 12.

The state is divided into nine districts with one director representing each of the districts and six At-Large seats representing the entire state of Indiana.

This year, ICMC has seats up for election in Districts 2, 5, and 8, as well as two At-Large seats. The candidates for the district seats are uncontested, but there are five candidates for the two At-Large seats.

The candidates for the At-Large seats are:

  • Sarah Delbecq from Auburn, Ind.
  • Susan Hayhurst from Terre Haute, Ind.
  • Robert Hippensteel from North Manchester, Ind.
  • James Roesner from Ferdinand, Ind.
  • Kelly Whiteman Snipes from Rochester, Ind.

Herb Ringel from Wabash County will be a returning director for District 2, which includes St. Joseph, Elkhart, Marshall, Kosciusko, Fulton, Wabash, Miami, Cass, and Carroll counties.

Mike Beard from Clinton County will be returning as a director for District 5, which includes Howard, Grant, Clinton, Tipton, Madison, Hamilton, Boone, Hendricks, Marion, Hancock, Rush, Decatur, Bartholomew, Shelby, Johnson, and Morgan counties.

David Gottbrath from Washington County will be returning as director for District 8, which includes Monroe, Brown, Lawrence, Jackson, Orange, Washington, Crawford, Harrison, Perry, and Floyd counties.

Newly-elected directors for districts 2, 5, 8 and the At-Large seats will serve three-year terms beginning October 1, 2015. ICMC directors can serve three consecutive full terms or a total of nine consecutive years.

For full bios of the candidates and more information about the election process, visit www.incorn.org/elections or call 1-877-267-6444.