Home Indiana Agriculture News Indiana Corn Growers Elect New Leadership Team

Indiana Corn Growers Elect New Leadership Team


Herb Ringel of Wabash was elected president of the Indiana Corn Growers Association (ICGA) by the board at its meeting in November. This is Ringel’s first term as ICGA president. He is also active in the National Corn Growers Association as a member of the Grower Services Action Team. Also elected were: Vice President, David Gottbrath of Pekin; and Secretary/Treasurer, Mike Nichols of Rockport. Gary Lamie of West Point will serve as chairman of the board as the immediate past president.


The ICGA board works to develop sound policies that protect and promote the interest of Indiana corn farmers and consists of farmer-directors from across the state. “I’m looking forward to representing Indiana corn farmers as ICGA president and being a voice for corn farmer’s concerns in state and national legislative, judicial and regulatory decisions affecting agriculture,” said Ringel, who farms in Wabash County. “With the lack of movement on the farm bill and the challenges to the Renewable Fuel Standard, it is as important as ever for our lawmakers to hear from us on policy that affects how we raise our crops, how we can compete in a global economy and how we build new markets for our corn crop.”