Home CROPS Indiana Corn Marketing Council Announces Board Election Results

Indiana Corn Marketing Council Announces Board Election Results


 Four Indiana Corn Marketing Council (ICMC) directors were re-elected to serve a three-year term on the state corn checkoff board. The state is divided into nine districts with one director representing each of the districts and six at-large seats representing the entire state of Indiana. This year, ICMC had seats up for election in Districts 1 and 7, as well as two at-large seats.


John Whaley of Brook, Ind. will continue to represent District 1, which includes Benton, Jasper, Lake, LaPorte, Newton, Porter, Pulaski, Starke, and White counties.


Dennis Whitsitt of Huntingburg, Ind. was re-elected to serve District 7, which includes Daviess, Dubois, Gibson, Greene, Knox, Martin, Pike, Posey, Spencer, Sullivan, Vanderburgh, and Warrick countes.


Ronnie Mohr of Greenfield, Ind. and Michael Nichols of Rockport, Ind. were re-elected for the two available at-large seats, which represent the entire state of Indiana.


Newly-elected directors began serving their three-year terms on October 1, 2013. ICMC directors can serve three consecutive full terms or a total of nine consecutive years.


ICMC works on behalf of corn farmers in Indiana who contribute to the corn checkoff. The ICMC Board of Directors is responsible for the investment of those checkoff funds. Under its new strategic plan, ICMC is focusing on projects that generate and communicate information to grow markets for Indiana corn farmers.