Home Indiana Agriculture News Indiana Grower Confirmed for WISHH Leadership

Indiana Grower Confirmed for WISHH Leadership

Levi Huffman
Levi Huffman

Sixteen  soybean growers from 11 states were confirmed to the American Soybean Associations World Initiative for Soy in Human Health Committee. ASA released the names of the 16 growers Monday that will serve on the committee which is seeking to develop markets for U.S. grown soybeans.  ASA president Ray Gaesser said “Russia’s recent import sanctions are yet another reminder that U.S. farmers need a diverse customer base.” The program has already been successful no finding new markets. According to the U.S. Department of Agriculture, developing countries will dominate the growth in world demand for agricultural products. USDA projects developing countries’ demand for agricultural products will increase faster than their production. As a result, these countries will account for 92 percent of the total increase in world oilseed and meat imports in 2013-2022.

Since U.S. soybean farmers founded WISHH in 2000, it has worked in 24 countries to develop long-term markets for U.S. soybean farmers while fueling economic growth and value chain development. New officers are: Chairman Andy Welden of Michigan; Vice Chair Lucas Heinen of Kansas; Treasurer Monica McCranie of South Dakota; and Secretary Dean Coleman of Iowa. Other WISHH Committee Members include: Gary Berg, Daryl Cates and Jeff Lynn of Illinois; Ron Bunjer of Minnesota; Ryan Cahoon of North Carolina; Bret Davis and Keith Roberts of Ohio; John Heisdorffer of Iowa; Levi Huffman of Indiana; Jack Trumbo of Kentucky; Art Wosick and Rick Albrecht (alternate) of North Dakota. U.S. Soybean Export Committee Manager Marypat Corbett is an ex officio member.