Home Indiana Agriculture News Indiana Soybean Farmers Needed For State Leadership Role

Indiana Soybean Farmers Needed For State Leadership Role


ISA logoHoosier farmers seeking to serve on the Indiana Soybean Alliance board of directors must submit completed applications by March 31, 2015. Representing Indiana soybean farmers, the ISA Board of Directors is responsible for the investment of the state’s soybean checkoff funds. Under its three-year strategic plan, the ISA identified five major focus areas: grain marketing, livestock, new uses, production and environmental research and aquaculture.


Hoosier farmers must sign a Director Expectation Statement and submit an Indiana Soybean Leader Profile form. Download the form at www.indianasoybean.com/elections or call the soybean office at 317-644-2791. Completed paperwork must be postmarked or faxed on or before March 31, 2015 to be eligible.


ISA has four voting districts in the state and farmers elected to the 24-member board of directors will serve a three-year term. ISA is seeking candidates to fill two open seats in each of the four districts.


District I counties include: Benton, Carroll, Cass, Clinton, Elkhart, Fulton, Howard, Jasper, Kosciusko, La Porte, Lake, Marshall, Miami, Newton, Porter, Pulaski, St. Joseph, Starke, Tipton, Wabash and White.


District II counties include: Adams, Allen, Blackford, Dekalb, Delaware, Grant, Henry, Huntington, Jay, La Grange, Madison, Noble, Randolph, Steuben, Wayne, Wells and Whitley.


District III counties include: Clay, Daviess, Dubois, Fountain, Gibson, Greene, Knox, Martin, Montgomery, Owen, Parke, Pike, Posey, Putnam, Spencer, Sullivan, Tippecanoe, Vanderburgh, Vermillion, Vigo, Warren and Warrick.


District IV counties include: Bartholomew, Boone, Brown, Clark, Crawford, Dearborn, Decatur, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Hamilton, Hancock, Harrison, Hendricks, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Johnson, Lawrence, Marion, Monroe, Morgan, Ohio, Orange, Perry, Ripley, Rush, Scott, Shelby, Switzerland, Union and Washington.


Candidates for the ISA Board are required to have been engaged in the growing of soybeans in Indiana in the last two years. Candidates must certify that they own the soybeans or share the ownership and risk of loss of the soybeans.


Voting will take place in July and ballots will be distributed to Indiana soybean farmers by mail. Those farmers elected in July will begin serving on the ISA board of directors in December 2015.


For more information or to obtain a Director Expectation Statement, download the form at https://www.indianasoybean.com/elections  or call 317-644-2791.