Home Indiana Agriculture News Jane Hardisty Honored at Conservation Awards Luncheon

Jane Hardisty Honored at Conservation Awards Luncheon



The Annual Conservation Awards Luncheon yesterday wrapped up the 75th conference of Indiana Soil and Water Conservation Districts, and the final recognition was reserved for the retiring Indiana State Conservationist, Jane Hardisty.

“I want to thank you all for all of your support, putting up with my pushy ways as I’ve been told, my pushy style, my commonsense style, my fun way of doing things, and my love of the land, and most of all the love of you people, she told those attending the luncheon. “It’s been my honor to be your State Conservationist. Thank you very, very much.”

In 2010 Hardisty spearheaded the Soil Health movement. Through her leadership the movement is stronger than ever today and has put Indiana on the map as a conservation leader in the U.S.

“As you know, the bar has been set pretty high for Indiana, so I am really counting on you all to keep carrying that soil health banner.”

Jamie Scott, President of the Indiana Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts told HAT one of Hardisty’s best accomplishments has been to simply get more out of the people who are a part of the conservation world.

“She has the ability to give them just a little push,” he said, “and keep them going and get more out of them. So, we’ve accomplished a lot, Jane accomplished a lot, but we accomplished a lot more because of her helping give that push and that leadership to bring everyone along.”

Jill Reinhart from the Indiana NRCS office has been tabbed as acting State Conservationist for Indiana for 120 days while a permanent replacement is determined.

Other winners honored Tuesday are: Jon Roberts of Kosciusko County received the 2017 Supervisor of the Year Award; 2017 District Showcase Award winners went to Boone, Pike, Randolph and Warrick County Soil and Water Conservation Districts; 2017 Friend of Conservation Award, individual category, went to Tim McConaha from Wayne County; Friend of Conservation award, Corporate category, Ceres Solutions Cooperative; Friend of Conservation award, Non-Profit category, Scottsburg High School FFA; Kurt Voelkel, 2017 Conservation Farmer of the Year Award; NRCS 2017 Indiana Earth Team Volunteer Award, Monroe County Soil and Water Conservation District; and 2017 Leadership Institute graduates of the workshop series, “Cornerstones of Leadership,” Clay County Supervisor, Steve Stoelting, Jackson County District Coordinator, Terry Ault, Pike County Supervisor Chair, Norman Dillon, and Posey County District Technician, Carrie Parmenter

(Pictures courtesy Kris Vance, USDA-Natural Resources Conservation Service)