The National Corn Growers Association today applauded Reps. Rod Blum (R-Iowa), Ken Buck (R-Col.), Collin Peterson (D-Minn.), and David Young (R-Iowa) for introducing the Fuel Choice and Deregulation Act of 2015. The House legislation, which mirrors a bill introduced in the Senate in March by Senators Chuck Grassley and Rand Paul, would ultimately increase the availability of E15 ethanol in the marketplace.

“We thank Representatives Blum, Buck, Peterson, and Young for their leadership in the House to expand consumer choices at the pump and give people year-round access to clean, renewable fuel,” said NCGA President Chip Bowling.

Reid Vapor Pressure measures the evaporation rate of gasoline. The Environmental Protection Agency has granted a volatility waiver to E10 blends, allowing year-round sales throughout the country. The EPA has refused to grant E15 the same waiver, despite some legal analysts who say it is within their authority to do so. Without the waiver, approximately 60 percent of the country can only sell E15 from June 1 to September 15. If the bill passes, more retailers would be expected to offer E15.

“Consumers should have year-round access to higher ethanol blends,” Bowling said. “This is the single largest regulatory hurdle standing in the way. We urge both the House and the Senate to step up, remove this hurdle, and expand consumer choice.”


Indiana Farm Expo