Home Indiana Agriculture News New Corn and Soybean Leaders Maintain Commitment to Indiana Farmers

New Corn and Soybean Leaders Maintain Commitment to Indiana Farmers



In the new year a woman is leading Indiana corn growers’ policy group, the Indiana Corn Growers Association. In December the board elected DeKalb County farmer Sarah Delbecq as president. The ICGA executive committee also includes Vice President Mike Beard of Frankfort, Treasurer Christian Rosen of Urbana, and Ronnie Mohr of Greenfield is the secretary.

Indiana corn and soybean Chief Executive Officer Jane Ade Stevens told HAT there are strong farmer leaders directing the work of ICGA, in addition to the corn checkoff and the soybean policy and checkoff groups.

“We have a very diverse board today, which is different than when I started working with them thirty years ago,” she said. “It’s very exciting and I think the farmers of this state can feel comfortable that we have some really sharp leaders looking at the best ways to spend the checkoff moneys, and I am really proud of the work that they do.”

She said the commitment by board members consists of many hours each and every year.

“Once they get on the board our board members probably give to Indiana farmers over two hundred hours a year in time, reviewing and looking at budgets and making sure we’re spending checkoff dollars appropriately, and then on the policy side making sure we have farmer representation at the statehouse and in Congress.

Also in December the Indiana Corn Marketing Council board elected Mike Beard of Frankfort as president of the checkoff organization. He is joined on the executive committee by Josh Miller of Anderson, vice president; Sarah Delbecq of Auburn, secretary; Paul Hodgen of Roachdale as treasurer; Jacob Walker of Waterloo as demand committee chairman; and Kelly Whiteman Snipes of Rochester as supply committee chairwoman.

At the Indiana Soybean Alliance Tom Griffiths of Kendallville was re-elected as chairman. The executive committee also includes: Joe Tuholski of Mill Creek, Ind. as vice chair; Anngie Steinbarger of Edinburgh, Ind. as secretary; David Rodibaugh of Rensselaer, Ind. as treasurer; Jim Douglas of Flat Rock, Ind. as grain marketing and utilization committee chair; Elaine Gillis of Dunkirk, Ind. as marketing and communications committee chair; and Phil Ramsey of Shelbyville, Ind. as membership and policy committee chair.

(ICGA 2018 Officer Team pictured, L-R: Ronnie Mohr, Mike Beard, Sarah Delbecq, and Christian Rosen)