Home Indiana Agriculture News Opportunity Knocks for Farmers Wanting to Serve on Indiana Corn Checkoff Board

Opportunity Knocks for Farmers Wanting to Serve on Indiana Corn Checkoff Board


Hoosier farmers interested in directing Indiana corn checkoff investments can now petition to run for election to the Indiana Corn Marketing Council (ICMC) board of directors. ICMC manages the state’s corn checkoff investments with the goal of supporting and growing Indiana’s corn industry. Five seats on ICMC’s board of directors are up for re-election in 2019.

“For many years, corn growers in Indiana have benefitted from the volunteer leadership of those who have served on the ICMC board,” said Greentown, Ind., farmer Denny Maple, who is also an at-large member of the ICMC board. “We rely on farmers to fill these leadership positions to help the Indiana corn industry remain strong and effective. New perspectives and ideas will help our corn research and promotion efforts.”

Board members determine the promotional, educational and research activities funded by the corn checkoff. ICMC’s strategic plan focuses on market development, production research and farmer services. Priorities include ethanol, transportation infrastructure, production research, livestock promotion and international exports.

To run for an ICMC director seat, Indiana corn farmers must be at least 18 years old, a registered Indiana voter and a resident in the appropriate district. All farmers who submit a valid petition by June 30, 2019 will be listed as a candidate on the election ballot. Voting takes place at Purdue Cooperative Extension Service county offices in August 2019.

One seat is open in each of Districts 1, 4 and 7. Two statewide, at-large seats are also open. Here is the breakdown of each district:

  • District 1– The counties of Lake, Porter, LaPorte, Starke, Pulaski, Jasper, White, Benton, and Newton.
  • District 4 – The counties of Warren, Tippecanoe, Montgomery, Putnam, Owen, Clay, Vigo, Parke, Vermillion, and Fountain.
  • District 7 – The counties of Sullivan, Greene, Daviess, Martin, Knox, Dubois, Pike, Gibson, Warrick, Spencer, Vanderburgh, and Posey.

Farmers interested in seeking a director position should submit a petition to the ICMC office before June 30, 2019. Farmers can download any necessary forms at www.incorn.org/elections or by calling Chris Weldon at the ICMC office at 1-800-735-0195. Forms are also available at all Purdue County Extension offices.

Newly elected directors will begin a three-year term Oct. 1, 2019. ICMC directors can serve three consecutive full terms or a total of nine consecutive years. For more information about Indiana Corn Marketing Council, visit www.incorn.org.

Source: Indiana Corn Marketing Council