Home Indiana Agriculture News Still Time to Run for Indiana Corn Checkoff Board

Still Time to Run for Indiana Corn Checkoff Board


Corn from IN CornThe Indiana Corn Marketing Council is still seeking applications for its 2015 board of directors election until Friday, June 26.

To run for an ICMC director seat, Indiana corn farmers must be a registered Indiana voter, be at least 18 years of age, and reside in the appropriate district. Board members must be willing to participate in board meetings, committee meetings, and other corn checkoff functions throughout the year.

Farmers can receive a petition by downloading the forms at www.incorn.org/elections or by calling the ICMC office at 800-735-0195. Forms are also available at all County Extension offices.

This year, ICMC has seats up for election in Districts 2, 5, and 8. There are also two At-Large seats up for election.

  • District 2: The counties of St. Joseph, Elkhart, Marshall, Kosciusko, Fulton, Wabash, Miami, Cass, and Carroll.
  • District 5: The counties of Howard, Grant, Clinton, Tipton, Madison, Hamilton, Boone, Hendricks, Marion, Hancock, Rush, Decatur, Bartholomew, Shelby, Johnson, Morgan.
  • District 8: The counties of Monroe, Brown, Lawrence, Jackson, Orange, Washington, Crawford, Harrison, Perry, and Floyd.
  • The two open At-Large seats represent the entire state of Indiana.

Voting takes place at local Cooperative Extension Service county offices in August 2015.  Newly elected directors will begin a three-year term Oct. 1, 2015. ICMC directors can serve three consecutive full terms or a total of nine consecutive years.

Source: ICMC