Home Indiana Agriculture News The Indiana Soybean Checkoff is Calling You

The Indiana Soybean Checkoff is Calling You


Indiana soybean farmers interested in serving on the Indiana Soybean Alliance board of directors must submit completed applications by March 10, 2017. ISA directors are responsible for stewarding the Indiana checkoff funds on behalf of the state’s soybean farmers. Interested candidates must sign a Director Expectation Statement and submit an Indiana Soybean Leader Profile form. Download the form at www.indianasoybean.com/elections or call Chris Weldon at 800-735-0195. Completed paperwork must be postmarked or faxed on or before March 10, 2017 to be eligible.

Candidates for the ISA Board are required to have been engaged in the growing of soybeans in Indiana in the last two years. Candidates must certify that they own the soybeans or share the ownership and risk of loss of the soybeans.

Voting occurs in July. Ballots will be distributed to Indiana soybean farmers by mail. Those farmers elected in July will begin serving on the ISA board of directors in December 2017.
ISA has four voting districts in the state and farmers elected to the 24-member board of directors will serve a three-year term. Eight seats — two in each district — are up for re-election. To find a listing of current ISA farmer-directors, visit www.indianasoybean.com/about-us/directors.
District I counties include: Benton, Carroll, Cass, Clinton, Elkhart, Fulton, Howard, Jasper, Kosciusko, La Porte, Lake, Marshall, Miami, Newton, Porter, Pulaski, St. Joseph, Starke, Tipton, Wabash and White.
District II counties include: Adams, Allen, Blackford, Dekalb, Delaware, Grant, Henry, Huntington, Jay, La Grange, Madison, Noble, Randolph, Steuben, Wayne, Wells and Whitley.
District III counties include: Clay, Daviess, Dubois, Fountain, Gibson, Greene, Knox, Martin, Montgomery, Owen, Parke, Pike, Posey, Putnam, Spencer, Sullivan, Tippecanoe, Vanderburgh, Vermillion, Vigo, Warren and Warrick.

District IV counties include: Bartholomew, Boone, Brown, Clark, Crawford, Dearborn, Decatur, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Hamilton, Hancock, Harrison, Hendricks, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Johnson, Lawrence, Marion, Monroe, Morgan, Ohio, Orange, Perry, Ripley, Rush, Scott, Shelby, Switzerland, Union and Washington.

For more information or to obtain a Director Expectation Statement, download the form at https://www.indianasoybean.com/elections or call 800-735-0195.