Home Indiana Agriculture News USDA Announces National Pork Producers Delegate Body Appointments

USDA Announces National Pork Producers Delegate Body Appointments


U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue announced last week the appointment of 157 producers and 6 importers to the 2018 National Pork Producers Delegate Body. The Indiana members appointed to serve a one-year term are: Nick Maple, Amboy, Ind.; Beth Tharp, Coatesville, Ind.; Valerie Duttlinger, Gentryville, Ind.; Dallas Foster, Greenfield, Ind.; Brian Martin, Kokomo, Ind.; Jeb Stevens, Osgood, Ind.

“These appointees represent a cross section of great experience in the pork industry and I know they will help us better meet the needs of our American pork producers,” said Perdue.

The National Pork Board and the Delegate Body were established under the Pork Promotion, Research, and Consumer Information Act of 1985. Since 1966, Congress has authorized 22 industry-funded research and promotion boards to provide a framework for agricultural industries to pool their resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets and conduct important research and promotion activities. The Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which helps ensure fiscal accountability and program integrity.

For more info visit the National Pork Board page on the AMS website.