Home Indiana Agriculture News Villwock re-elected president of Indiana Farm Bureau

Villwock re-elected president of Indiana Farm Bureau

Don Villwock

Don Villwock, a corn and soybean farmer from Knox County, Ind., has been unanimously re-elected to a sixth term as president of Indiana Farm Bureau and Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance.The election took place during the delegate session that marked the conclusion of the IFB convention, held in Indianapolis Dec. 7 and 8. Villwock, who raises white corn, soybeans, seed soybeans and seed wheat on his farm near Edwardsport, took office as IFB president in January 2002. “I am both humbled and honored,” Villwock said. “I appreciate the trust that the delegate body placed in me, and I look forward to the next three years, working on behalf of our members and Indiana agriculture.”


Villwock served in many capacities with Farm Bureau prior to his election as president, including vice president, District 7 director, Knox County Farm Bureau president and State Young Farmer Committee chairman. He has served on the Farm Bill Task Force and the Farm Credit Task Force.  At the national level, Villwock is a member of the American Farm Bureau board of directors and is the national vice president of the Farm Bureau Bank, American Agricultural Insurance Company and AFBIS. In January 2004 he was appointed to the AFBF Trade Advisory Committee. In June 2003, he was elected chairman of the board of trustees of the Farm Foundation. He is a member of the 25 x ’25 Ag Energy Working Group, a national task force promoting the use of renewable fuels. A 1972 graduate of Purdue University with a degree in agricultural economics, Villwock served as state executive director of the USDA’s Agricultural Stabilization and Conservation Service (now the Farm Services Agency) from 1989 to 1993. He also served as state agricultural liaison for U.S. Sen. Richard Lugar.

Villwock has been involved with the Indiana Corn Growers, Indiana Soybean Growers, and the Indiana Pork Producers and has served as chairman of the Indiana Institute of Agriculture. Other leadership positions and awards include Purdue Distinguished Agricultural Alumnus, past president of the Purdue Ag Alumni Association, Prairie Farmer Master Farmer, Friend of Extension, 33rd degree Scottish Rite Mason and Sagamore of the Wabash (the highest honor that can be bestowed by Indiana’s governor).